World News II - How to change the width (submenu)

Feel free to talk about everything related to our Joomla Products
Rate this topic: Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.
GK User
Mon Apr 23, 2012 6:43 am
How can I change the width of the submenu so the text can enter completely?


Image

Where is the file? What is the file?

Thanks in advance.
User avatar
Junior Boarder

teitbite
Mon Apr 23, 2012 8:01 am
Hi

Try add this code to /css/override.css (remember to allow using of this file in template settings)

Code: Select all
.childcontent,
.childcontent-inner-wrap,
.childcontent-inner,
.gkcol {
    width:300px !important;
}
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Mon Apr 23, 2012 8:31 am
Thank you friend. It works. But I have a question, what do you mean with allow? allow what?

I just edited it and the matter was solved... or do I have to do something else?
User avatar
Junior Boarder

teitbite
Mon Apr 23, 2012 8:40 am
Hi

Overwrite.css file can be enabled/disabled from template configuration. Only if the file is set to ON code from this file will be used on site.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Mon Apr 23, 2012 8:57 am
Thank you!
User avatar
Junior Boarder

teitbite
Mon Apr 23, 2012 9:08 am
Hi

No problem. Glad I could help.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Mon Apr 23, 2012 10:50 am
teitbite wrote:Hi

No problem. Glad I could help.



Wait pls. I have a problem.

Now I have this "trouble". The columns disappeared, now there's only one column. And the Menu type is on GK Extra Menu! Was there an error in your code? Please help.

Image
User avatar
Junior Boarder

teitbite
Tue Apr 24, 2012 4:52 am
Hi

Not an error but just not all cases were predicted. I was checking it on a page without columns in submenu. If such case will ocure You need to add a menu item class suffix for this submenu and change my code to for example:

Code: Select all
.menusuffix .childcontent,
.menusuffix .childcontent-inner-wrap,
.menusuffix .childcontent-inner {
    width:900px !important;
}

.menusuffix .gkcol {
    width:300px !important;
}
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Tue Apr 24, 2012 7:05 am
The problem is still there.

Image

Where/what is the original file to edit it from there directly and not to overwrite it. And tell me more about "menu item class suffix"

why did you add ".menusuffix" and why 900px and what is ".gkcol {"


Thanks in advance.
User avatar
Junior Boarder

GK User
Tue Apr 24, 2012 9:34 am
User avatar
Junior Boarder

teitbite
Tue Apr 24, 2012 10:16 am
Hi

For every menu item You can add a css class -> menu item class suffix. With this class You can customize the look of it. If such class is not applied than code for it got no use.

Please do not modife orginal css files. If You want to work with larger amount of code than "Custom CSS code" can handle You can use /css/override.css file. It's important because of possible upcoming updates.

Send me an access to Your site. I'll do this for You.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:56 pm
Hello,

I just sent you the username and password of the site (as administrator)

Thanks in advance.
User avatar
Junior Boarder

teitbite
Wed Apr 25, 2012 3:26 pm
Hi

I will need an access to see frontend also. Right now I'm blind and have no idea which submenu needs to be adjusted.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Wed Apr 25, 2012 5:23 pm
If you are using megamenu, and installed the menu plugin, couldn't you setup the submenu witdth in the extended parametes of the menu? I think that would accomplish the same thing.
User avatar
Junior Boarder

GK User
Thu Apr 26, 2012 6:21 am
teitbite wrote:Hi

I will need an access to see frontend also. Right now I'm blind and have no idea which submenu needs to be adjusted.



Hii teitbite,

sorry, you can see the frontend now.
User avatar
Junior Boarder

teitbite
Fri Apr 27, 2012 9:45 am
Hi

Look now. My code worked. You have forget to add a menu item class suffix.

I've added a menu item class suffix to "Productos" called " menu_item_294", so code to change widths of this submenu looks like:

Code: Select all
.menu_item_294 .childcontent,
.menu_item_294 .childcontent-inner-wrap,
.menu_item_294 .childcontent-inner {
    width:900px !important;
}

.menu_item_294 .gkcol {
    width:300px !important;
}


Additionaly a class to clear this settings inside submenus of submenus :)

Code: Select all
.childcontent .childcontent,
.childcontent-inner-wrap .childcontent-inner-wrap,
.childcontent-inner .childcontent-inner,
.gkcol .gkcol {
width:200px !important;
}
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Fri Apr 27, 2012 12:54 pm
Thank you very much!

I have a question,

will these settings affect all the submenus?

and

how did you know that the names were "childcontent" "inner-wrap" "gkcol" "!important"

does it work with all templates? this is "part of css language" ? or do you have to see some code of the page to know what "name" use first?
User avatar
Junior Boarder

teitbite
Sat Apr 28, 2012 1:06 pm
Hi
Yes it's a CSS code. Using firebug I'm checking layers names and using this as selectors to add styles to it. And yes if you will use a different suffix you can have different width in every submenu.
User avatar
Moderator


cron