Centering text

Support desk for Multipurpose Quark Theme
GK User
Fri Oct 23, 2015 8:48 pm
Hi,

I am trying to center the header text right after removing the shoe on front page (ecommerce theme). But something seems wrong.

Code: Select all
@media (min-width:840px) {
.gkStoreInfo {
  margin: 500px auto 0 auto;
}


This centering works ok when i remove the shoe in the ecommerce theme. But after applying the CSS in template/advance settings headers on other pages dont work the only page that does work is the homepage.

It only has problems on the phone not the dekstop
User avatar
Gold Boarder

GK User
Sat Oct 24, 2015 11:02 am
Could you please post an url to your site?
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Sat Oct 24, 2015 5:20 pm
I have send a pm with my website.

Home works now but the headers of other pages not.
User avatar
Gold Boarder

GK User
Tue Oct 27, 2015 9:54 am
The problem is with css itself:
Code: Select all
@media (min-width:840px) {
.gkStoreInfo {
  margin: 400px auto 0 auto;
}

You have opened media query but didn't clse it. Correct form is:
Code: Select all
@media (min-width:840px) {
.gkStoreInfo {
  margin: 400px auto 0 auto;
}
}
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Tue Oct 27, 2015 1:32 pm
Thanks! It works now!

Was my first time with @media haha.

Another qeustion:

If i scroll down on my website it goes a little up, it is pretty annoying. Could you check that at URL i have send on a mobile phone?

I am using galaxy s4 with chrome
User avatar
Gold Boarder

GK User
Sat Oct 31, 2015 2:17 pm
Sorry, but I can't reproduce that issue (I have checked on iPhone 5, iPhone 6 and Chrome emulator).
User avatar
Moderator

teitbite
Mon Nov 02, 2015 5:12 pm
Hi

I was asked to join conversation. I can see the problem, but I have no developer tool on android device to tell for sure what is causing it. Try maybe use this code. I'm only guessing:

Code: Select all
@media (min-width:840px) {
.gkStoreInfo {
    left: 50% !important;
    margin: -150px 0 0 -175px !important;
    position: absolute !important;
    top: 50% !important;
    width: 350px !important;
}
}
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Mon Nov 02, 2015 6:11 pm
Hi Teitbite,

Thanks for answering, but it doesn't work.

This problem has nothing to do with my first post of topic. Without this code it also doesn't work:

Code: Select all
@media (min-width:840px) {
.gkStoreInfo {
  margin: 500px auto 0 auto;
}


So this code is not the problem the problem is probally quark.

Thanks in advance
User avatar
Gold Boarder

GK User
Mon Nov 02, 2015 6:19 pm
I have included the css in override so you can check again
User avatar
Gold Boarder

GK User
Mon Nov 02, 2015 7:01 pm
xWiz - did your site change? I don't see override.css enabled on the site you have provided via pm.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Mon Nov 02, 2015 7:12 pm
i have put in template settings:

extension > template > advance setting i have copied in here
User avatar
Gold Boarder

GK User
Mon Nov 02, 2015 7:14 pm
Could you please use override.css instead, it is easier to debug problems this way.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Mon Nov 02, 2015 7:17 pm
Ok done! I have removed in settings and put in override.css

Weirrd!! The problem is now gone!!
User avatar
Gold Boarder

GK User
Mon Nov 02, 2015 7:19 pm
Maybe I'm checking wrong url? You have provided me:
www.test.****.nl which redirrects to www.***.nl/test.
I still don't see override.css loaded there.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Mon Nov 02, 2015 7:36 pm
The redirect is correct.

I am not used to override.css i turned override.css ENABELD

and paste it in here: templates/gk_quark/css/override.css

Is this correct?
User avatar
Gold Boarder

GK User
Mon Nov 02, 2015 7:46 pm
Ok the override.css is turned on and same problem with scrolling on phone
User avatar
Gold Boarder

GK User
Mon Nov 02, 2015 7:46 pm
Ok, now it works. Please let me check that issue again.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Mon Nov 02, 2015 7:48 pm
One more thing - does this happen on homepage only or on other pages also?
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Mon Nov 02, 2015 7:49 pm
Only homepage.

Maybe that is because the other pages are almost empty.. not sure..
User avatar
Gold Boarder

GK User
Mon Nov 02, 2015 8:06 pm
Ok, the problem is really awkward... It seems that android phones "resizes" its screen size when menu (where you can set site address) shows and hides. This way when you are starting to scroll down, at the first moment only menu hides - and you can see bottom of header mod. But our template tries to always display header with width same as screen size (so it is full screen) - to bu using JavaScript it detects the screen size has changed - and redraws the header (so the header bottom dissapears and you can see small "jump").
Now I don't have any idea how to fix it just now. I can report that issue, but it seems to be a browser quirk and I'm not sure if it can be addressed.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Mon Nov 02, 2015 8:08 pm
What is interesting - same happens on our demo server:
https://demo.gavick.com/joomla3/quark_ecommerce/
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Mon Nov 02, 2015 8:13 pm
Yeahh it is really akward ahahahahhahaha!!

Hope to hear soon from you with more info about the fix, because my website is not ok now!
User avatar
Gold Boarder

GK User
Mon Nov 02, 2015 9:43 pm
Its awkward from programistic point of view which is even worse...
I'm also waiting for dev response. I'll write back as soon as I get an answer.
User avatar
Moderator

teitbite
Tue Nov 03, 2015 9:25 am
xWiz wrote:Hi Teitbite,

Thanks for answering, but it doesn't work.

This problem has nothing to do with my first post of topic. Without this code it also doesn't work:

Code: Select all
@media (min-width:840px) {
.gkStoreInfo {
  margin: 500px auto 0 auto;
}


So this code is not the problem the problem is probally quark.

Thanks in advance


as I said it was a guess. You can clearly see that the formatting is changing. I believe it's the content of header pushing the header window down while changing. It's hard to catch this on a device without developer tool. Anyway I can see programmers assigned this bug for fix an hour ago, so it should be done soon.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Tue Nov 03, 2015 3:39 pm
Thanks Teitbite for the information!

If there is any other news in the future please let us know!

Cheers!
User avatar
Gold Boarder

GK User
Wed Nov 04, 2015 5:08 pm
I'll post an info as soon as I'll get an reply from our devteam.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Fri Jan 08, 2016 1:14 pm
Cyberek wrote:Its awkward from programistic point of view which is even worse...
I'm also waiting for dev response. I'll write back as soon as I get an answer.


Hi any news? it is been 2 months now.. and the bug is still here...
User avatar
Gold Boarder

GK User
Mon Apr 11, 2016 11:10 pm
Hi any news now 4 months.. please an answer....
User avatar
Gold Boarder

teitbite
Thu Apr 14, 2016 10:17 am
Hi

Maybe I'll be able to help. Please tell me the url to the page and point to the element You want to center.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Thu Apr 14, 2016 12:02 pm
teitbite wrote:Hi

Maybe I'll be able to help. Please tell me the url to the page and point to the element You want to center.


The centering is not the problem anymore read this:

Cyberek wrote:Ok, the problem is really awkward... It seems that android phones "resizes" its screen size when menu (where you can set site address) shows and hides. This way when you are starting to scroll down, at the first moment only menu hides - and you can see bottom of header mod. But our template tries to always display header with width same as screen size (so it is full screen) - to bu using JavaScript it detects the screen size has changed - and redraws the header (so the header bottom dissapears and you can see small "jump").
Now I don't have any idea how to fix it just now. I can report that issue, but it seems to be a browser quirk and I'm not sure if it can be addressed.


The jump is the problem, try it on a android phone please.

https://demo.gavick.com/joomla3/quark_ecommerce/
User avatar
Gold Boarder

teitbite
Wed Apr 20, 2016 11:11 am
Hi

Can You please be a little bit more specific ? I'm checking it on with Android device, but I cannot spot any jumping.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Tue Apr 26, 2016 10:06 pm
It is like the topic starts from the beginging.. damm

here the video.....

https://youtu.be/65S-UIzbx0o

Please give a solution as soon as possible. The template steakhouse has the same isseus...
User avatar
Gold Boarder

teitbite
Thu Apr 28, 2016 1:36 pm
Hi

None of my phones is showing an issue as on Your video. So lets make some test to learn what can be causing it. Add this to override.css:

Code: Select all
@media only screen and (max-width:600px) {
.frontpage #gkHeaderMod {
    height: auto !important;
    max-width: none !important;
    min-height: 0 !important;
}

.gkStoreInfoAdditional {
    padding-bottom: 35px;
    padding-top: 35px;
    position: relative;
}
}
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Thu Apr 28, 2016 2:36 pm
Didn't work and it did make the header smaller....

It is on an android 5 phone samsung galaxy s4
User avatar
Gold Boarder

teitbite
Fri Apr 29, 2016 12:35 pm
Hi

I've reported this to programmers. Hopefully they will be able to help here.
User avatar
Moderator

teitbite
Thu May 05, 2016 12:26 pm
Hi

Please try edit file /js/gk.scripts.js and remove:

Code: Select all
      jQuery(window).resize(function() {
         adjust_header();
      });
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Fri May 06, 2016 10:13 am
Didn't work, i removed that but same isseu
User avatar
Gold Boarder

teitbite
Sun May 08, 2016 10:21 am
Hi

That's interesting, because this removed header resizing entirely. I'm gonna ask them again and get back to You.
User avatar
Moderator

teitbite
Sun May 15, 2016 10:26 am
Hi

Programmers asked to check if mobile browser cache was cleared and if yes than remove this function too:

Code: Select all
      jQuery(window).resize(function() {
         parallax_heights = [];
         parallax_tops = [];
         
         jQuery(parallax_containers).each(function(i, container) {
            container = jQuery(container);
            parallax_heights.push(container.outerHeight());
            parallax_tops.push(container.offset().top);
         });
      });
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Mon May 16, 2016 6:37 pm
Cleared cached, removed both functions and still same problem
User avatar
Gold Boarder


cron