Different header height on homepage

Support desk for Multipurpose Quark Theme
GK User
Mon Aug 10, 2015 10:13 pm
Hi,
I want to to change header's height only on homepage ( ID=640) ( for example: header's image height in template settings is set to 500px, but on homepage I want to set height to 900px. If I modify height under template>images tabs, headers changes in all pages, what i do not want to. What I am looking for is separately change header's in homepage height. The code I was trying to assign to .fronpage suffix is:
Code: Select all
.frontpage #gkHeaderMod,
.frontpage .blog-page > .header,
.frontpage .single-page > .header,
.frontpage .search-page .header
{height:900px;}

Which do not work. What I have to add or change?
I have a open topic for this issue but i could not find a solution for this, I was suggested to add this code:
Code: Select all
#gkHeaderMod img {height:500px; top: 30% !important;}
.frontpage #gkHeaderMod, .frontpage .blog-page > .header, .frontpage .single-page > .header, .frontpage .search-page .header
{height:500px;}

After adding this code, the homepage looks like in attached image.
Web url: http://demo.macawlab.com/dukes/
Please help me with this issue, its very important to me. :dry:

Thank You!
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Tue Aug 11, 2015 6:45 am
Lets start by adding some unique homepage suffix (now you have noMainbody).
Please set homepage suffix to "noMainbody fixHeaderHeight" and write back.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Tue Aug 11, 2015 4:10 pm
Added :side:
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Tue Aug 11, 2015 4:48 pm
Well, the actual problem is with this override:
Code: Select all
#gkHeaderMod img {
    height: 500px;
    top: 30% !important;
}

which causes different display of image. Please remove the code and all should be fine.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Tue Aug 11, 2015 4:57 pm
Okay, now I have only this code:
Code: Select all
.frontpage #gkHeaderMod, .frontpage .blog-page > .header, .frontpage .single-page > .header, .frontpage .search-page .header
{height:900px;}

but it does not working...
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Tue Aug 11, 2015 6:21 pm
Please clear cache, right now frontpage image shows correctly (fullscreen).
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Tue Aug 11, 2015 7:00 pm
I cleared the cache, but it looks the same. You can see it in attached image... :dry:
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Tue Aug 11, 2015 7:11 pm
Any particular browser? What browser version? Wha OS?
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Tue Aug 11, 2015 7:20 pm
I am using windows 8.1 and was checking on these browsers: Firefox, Chrome and IE.
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Tue Aug 11, 2015 7:22 pm
I bet it is some kind of cache. Please try incognito/private mode to be 100% sure.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Tue Aug 11, 2015 7:47 pm
Just tried on Firefox and Chrome incognito/private browsing, but it looks the same. I cleared cache couple times on all browsers...
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Thu Aug 13, 2015 8:12 pm
I also checked on other computers and mac os, but everywhere it looks the same... any ideas what it can be?
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Sat Aug 15, 2015 7:34 am
I'll be shooting blind here, as still I see something else on my screen... Please edit this file:
templates/gk_quark/js/gk.scripts.js
and find this part of code:
Code: Select all
   // Fix for the containers width
   if(jQuery('#gkBg').outerHeight() < jQuery(window).outerHeight()) {
      jQuery('#gkBg').css('min-height', jQuery(window).outerHeight() + "px");
   }
   
   jQuery(window).resize(function() {
      if(jQuery('#gkBg').outerHeight() < jQuery(window).outerHeight()) {
         jQuery('#gkBg').css('min-height', jQuery(window).outerHeight() + "px");
      }
   });

Now change it to:
Code: Select all
   // Fix for the containers width
   if(jQuery('#gkBg').outerHeight() < jQuery(window).outerHeight()) {
      jQuery('#gkBg #gkHeaderMod ').css('min-height', jQuery(window).outerHeight() + "px");
   }
   
   jQuery(window).resize(function() {
      if(jQuery('#gkBg').outerHeight() < jQuery(window).outerHeight()) {
         jQuery('#gkBg #gkHeaderMod').css('min-height', jQuery(window).outerHeight() + "px");
      }
   });
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Mon Aug 17, 2015 4:37 pm
It works! :) but it changed the header height not only on frontpage, but also on the Gallery page. Any ideas why?
http://demo.macawlab.com/dukes/gallery
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Mon Aug 17, 2015 6:31 pm
If you would like to have it working only on homepage, you need to start with unique homepage suffix. Could you please add it and write back providing its name?
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Mon Aug 17, 2015 7:06 pm
Oh, I thought it already has a suffix .frontpage, but I added a custom one, called .homepage
attached an image of my suffixes :)
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Mon Aug 17, 2015 7:09 pm
This way it will not work, you need to add all suffixes for page id 640 in one line.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Mon Aug 17, 2015 7:10 pm
Ps - right now only first one works.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Mon Aug 17, 2015 7:15 pm
I did not knew that it works that way :) I changed it, like this is the right way?
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Tue Aug 18, 2015 8:51 pm
Since the all other page's headers are okay, only the Gallery page header shows full screen. I checked with a firebug and I found this code:
Code: Select all
element.style {
    min-height: 971px;
}

and I cannot find the path to it's css file, because it says inline...
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Wed Aug 19, 2015 10:31 am
This code is set inline by Javascript.
Now while all suffixes are ok, please write again what needs to be done and where.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Wed Aug 19, 2015 4:13 pm
Everything is okay except Gallery page header. I need it to be the same height as all others ( height: 500px).
At the end:
home page-900px
All other menu items 500px ( gallery page still showing the same height as in the home page).
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Wed Aug 19, 2015 4:19 pm
Or remove that script for gallery header
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Thu Aug 20, 2015 8:56 pm
So basically, you want all headers, including gallery to have 500px and homepage header to be fullscreen?
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Thu Aug 20, 2015 9:16 pm
Correct, that is all I want :)
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Mon Aug 24, 2015 7:34 am
Ok, so please revert previous change that you did in javascript, and change the code this way:
Code: Select all
   // Fix for the containers width
   if(jQuery('#gkBg').outerHeight() < jQuery(window).outerHeight()) {
      jQuery('#gkBg').css('min-height', jQuery(window).outerHeight() + "px");
   }

   if(jQuery('.fixHeaderHeight #gkBg').outerHeight() < jQuery(window).outerHeight()) {
      jQuery('.fixHeaderHeight #gkBg #gkHeaderMod').css('min-height', jQuery(window).outerHeight() + "px");
   }
   
   jQuery(window).resize(function() {
      if(jQuery('#gkBg').outerHeight() < jQuery(window).outerHeight()) {
         jQuery('#gkBg').css('min-height', jQuery(window).outerHeight() + "px");
      }
   });

   jQuery(window).resize(function() {
      if(jQuery('.fixHeaderHeight #gkBg').outerHeight() < jQuery(window).outerHeight()) {
         jQuery('.fixHeaderHeight #gkBg #gkHeaderMod').css('min-height', jQuery(window).outerHeight() + "px");
      }
   });
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Mon Aug 24, 2015 4:02 pm
It works perfectly. Thank You a lot, saved my ass, you're the best! :)
regards,
Gedas
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Fri Aug 28, 2015 6:34 am
I'm glad we could solve it out :).
Is there anything else I can help you with regarding this topic?
User avatar
Moderator


cron