OVERRIDE after update

Support desk for Multipurpose Quark Theme
GK User
Tue Mar 31, 2015 1:30 pm
[EN]
Hi, I made a template updates. I have a problem with using override.css - for example, when I throw.
Code: Select all
 #gkHeaderMod Sub {}
is automatically interpreted previously it was a clean entry that deletes the normal setting. Now, it is bypassed and the loaded css old. I need to enter any value from zero to make the settings reset.

[PL]
Witam, dokonałem aktualizacji szablonu quarka. Mam problem z używaniem override.css - gdy wrzucam np.
Code: Select all
#gkHeaderMod sub {}
to poprzednio automatycznie interpretowane to było jako czysty wpis, który kasował normalne ustawienia. Teraz, jest omijany i wczytywany css stary. Muszę każdą wartość wpisywać z zerowymi ustawieniami aby dokonać resetu. Jest to uciążliwe, jak to obejść?
User avatar
Expert Boarder

GK User
Tue Mar 31, 2015 1:54 pm
Could you please post an url to your site?
Have you backed up previous file and restored it after update?
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Tue Mar 31, 2015 1:55 pm
Ps. What do you exactly mean by "enter any value from zero"?
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Tue Mar 31, 2015 2:06 pm
http://ph.madness.net.pl/energia

Example for sub, in module after update was wrong:

Code: Select all
#gkHeaderMod sub {
  bottom: 65xp;
  color: #fff;
  font-size: 9px;
  left: 0;
  letter-spacing: 2px;
  line-height: 1.8;
  position: absolute;
  text-transform: uppercase;
  width: 100%;
}


so, i try tu put in override.css

Code: Select all
#gkHeaderMod sub {
 
}
to clean it. But instead of recognizing it as an empty value, uploads, and so the value of template.css
User avatar
Expert Boarder

GK User
Tue Mar 31, 2015 2:18 pm
or ignore:

Code: Select all
a {
  color: #B0CB1F;
  -webkit-transition: all 0.2s linear;
  -moz-transition: all 0.2s linear;
  -ms-transition: all 0.2s linear;
  -o-transition: all 0.2s linear;
  transition: all 0.2s linear;
  text-decoration: none;
}


from override.css
User avatar
Expert Boarder

GK User
Tue Mar 31, 2015 3:11 pm
The assumption that putting:
Code: Select all
#gkHeaderMod sub {
}

in override.css will clear out all declarations from other css files is wrong. You need to enter what you need to override into the declaration itself. In most cases you need to copy one or two declarations from original styling and change their value. In some cases you need to copy entire declaration and change all the values.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Tue Mar 31, 2015 3:25 pm
ok, thanks for help.

But why ignoring my a {...} from override.php?
User avatar
Expert Boarder

GK User
Tue Mar 31, 2015 3:31 pm
Css is very complicated ;)
In short - if you inspect an element with firebug/devtools and it's declaration looks this way:
Code: Select all
#gkHeaderNav .gkMainMenu > .gkmenu > li > a {
  color: #26292b !important;
}

(its a sample from menu) and your override looks this way:
Code: Select all
a {
  color: #B0CB1F;
}

the override will not work as it is not that much precise (more elements in selector, more "power" of declaration).
You can use !important at specific declaration:
a {
color: #B0CB1F !important;
}
but it will not work if already !important was used before.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Tue Mar 31, 2015 4:48 pm
ok, I understand. I wanted to make sure that as part of the update is not forced to default, despite the use of the override. Thanks for your help.
User avatar
Expert Boarder

GK User
Tue Mar 31, 2015 5:06 pm
No problem. I was trying to find good article about power of css selectors. I hope this will help:
https://css-tricks.com/specifics-on-css-specificity/
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Tue Mar 31, 2015 6:58 pm
Thanks, I will read.
User avatar
Expert Boarder

GK User
Wed Apr 01, 2015 8:59 am
Please let me know if you would have any additional questions regarding this topic.
User avatar
Moderator


cron