overlay again

GK User
Sat Jul 25, 2015 6:35 pm
Looking at the overlay threads I've dumped into my /var/www/html/templates/gk_writer/layouts directory these files:

Code: Select all
-rwxr-xr-x 1 www-data www-data  3121 Apr 27  2014 jquery.cookie.js
-rw-r--r-- 1 www-data www-data 13211 Jul 25 19:21 overlay-img.png


and to the file default.php (between <body></body>I added

Code: Select all
<!-- ADDED BY [email protected] -->
   <div id="tip-overlay"></div>
   <style type="text/css">
      #tip-overlay {
      background: url("overlay-img.png") no-repeat scroll 87% 30px rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.75);
      cursor: pointer;
      height: 100%;
      left: 0;
      opacity: 1;
      position: fixed;
      top: 0;
      width: 100%;
      z-index: 99999;
      }
   </style>

   <script type="text/javascript" src="jquery.cookie.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
   <script type="text/javascript">(function($) {$(document).ready(function() {
      if(!$.cookie('tipoverlay')) {
                   $('#tip-overlay').click(function(){
                      $('#tip-overlay').remove();
                           $.cookie('tipoverlay',1,{ expires: 7, path: '/' });
                   });
           } else {
                   $('#tip-overlay').remove();
           }
   });})(jQuery)</script>
   <!-- END -->


Then cleared all cookies installed from the site, and revisited but I still I don't see the overlay. What am I missing here?

I'm asking, because a visitor got confused as how to find the contact information in the menu.
User avatar
Senior Boarder

teitbite
Sun Jul 26, 2015 10:37 am
Hi

Hard to tell, I do not remember this custom code. Please tell me the url to You site, so I'll check.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Mon Jul 27, 2015 6:57 am
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Mon Jul 27, 2015 7:04 am
It seems, that all sites except the one this was intended for is getting the overlay effect but not the image. and the js isn't doing anything ...
User avatar
Senior Boarder

teitbite
Tue Jul 28, 2015 6:12 pm
Hi

This is a custom coed I've made for one of our clients to have the arrorw pointing to the menu on beginning. After closing this overlay it should not show again, so maybe You've already closed it ?

Anyway I cannot check because site is not working right now.

Code: Select all
Error displaying the error page: Application Instantiation Error: Could not connect to MySQL.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Thu Jul 30, 2015 8:29 am
No, I never saw it. But I've moved the site to a new server (because the old one crashed constantly) and will try again in a bit.
User avatar
Senior Boarder

teitbite
Fri Jul 31, 2015 10:11 am
HI

Ok. Just let me know when You will be ready to show this to me and if You still need it.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Fri Jul 31, 2015 4:43 pm
I tried this again with the script as is. What then happens is that I get a darkened page without the image. You can't click on anything on the page.
Adding the full path to the image to the script, doesn't improve things.
User avatar
Senior Boarder

teitbite
Sun Aug 02, 2015 3:00 pm
Hi

Please send me an access to FTP via forum's PM. I'l just make it for You.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Mon Aug 03, 2015 5:11 pm
Sent login earlier had time to do anything?
User avatar
Senior Boarder

teitbite
Wed Aug 05, 2015 12:26 pm
Hi

I've fixed couple of errors You had in this /layout/default.php file and now You just need to upload this files to root of this site. Script is looking for this files at http://www.tyresoschack.se/overlay-img.png
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Thu Aug 06, 2015 7:27 am
Weird thought I sent this .... apologies if it's doubled.

Thanks a lot =)
Now, only one minor detail remains -the image is centered rather than left aligned as in the demo, I'll try to figure it out ...
User avatar
Senior Boarder

teitbite
Sun Aug 09, 2015 12:53 pm
Hi

I'm not using script from demo. It's my own making. This script in demo is attached to a higher layer than template so it's not accessible.

Ok. I can see You've figured it out. Great to see it working like that.
User avatar
Moderator


cron