custom width for modules

February 2014 Joomla Template
Rate this topic: Evaluations: 1, 1.00 on the average.Evaluations: 1, 1.00 on the average.Evaluations: 1, 1.00 on the average.Evaluations: 1, 1.00 on the average.Evaluations: 1, 1.00 on the average.Evaluations: 1, 1.00 on the average.1.00 out of 6 based on 1 vote(s)
GK User
Mon Jan 12, 2015 1:53 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hello! On the one page I wanted can sidebar right module wider because there is plenty of room for him, and the article does not take up much space. I tried to change it in the settings of the template (Template Manager--layouts---Custom right sidebar width) , but nothing happened. (url: http://consultant30.ru/index.php/otzyvy)
User avatar
Junior Boarder

teitbite
Wed Jan 14, 2015 9:49 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi

That's odd. Doesn't look like the getSidebarWidthOverride() function is written wrong. Please send me an access to FTP. I'll check it.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Wed Jan 14, 2015 10:53 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
[edited by moderator]
User avatar
Junior Boarder

GK User
Fri Jan 16, 2015 10:29 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
I understand how to change the width siderbar, but how change width for modules. I want change width search and Highlights.
User avatar
Junior Boarder

teitbite
Sun Jan 18, 2015 4:10 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi

Sorry for delay. I must have deleted mail with Your question by accident because I can only see the last one. I see You have already managed to do this, can You share how this needs to be configured ? Also for modules, they should fit into the aailable space on it's own. Even if it's a fixed width image it should be resized by template's responsive functionality.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Fri Jan 23, 2015 10:43 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi! The problem was most likely the fact that I have not correct item ID : I first have a article id, and it was necessary menu item ID. But how i may change width of modules? I want to change the width search and Highlights modules so that the width of Highlights was 57%, search - 43%. (url: http://consultant30.ru/)
User avatar
Junior Boarder

teitbite
Sun Jan 25, 2015 11:11 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi

Ok. But I've just checked and the settings from template configuration about right sidebar widths looks to be working correctly. I've visited pages with id 955 and 1024 and both of them has a sidebar width 43% as shown in Your screen. So can You please try to explain one more time what is the issue now ?
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Tue Jan 27, 2015 2:33 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
I have a problem with how to set up the desired width for certain modules. If i want increase width of search module and decrease Highlighter module. This can be done? Through suffixes?
User avatar
Junior Boarder

teitbite
Fri Jan 30, 2015 10:05 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi

Och now I get it. This element supposed to be not dependable from below content, but You can use page class suffix (example how to use it: https://www.gavick.com/documentation/un ... omla-pages) and than use a code like that to override the widths for certain pages:

Code: Select all
.page_class_suffix_added_by_you #gkSearch {
    width: 21.25%;
}

.page_class_suffix_added_by_you #gkHighlights {
    width: 78.5%;
}
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Tue Feb 03, 2015 2:49 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
how to do it on all pages? not just the individual
User avatar
Junior Boarder

teitbite
Thu Feb 05, 2015 7:13 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi

Than it's easier, You do not need a suffix :) just:

Code: Select all
#gkSearch {
    width: 21.25%;
}

#gkHighlights {
    width: 78.5%;
}
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Fri Feb 06, 2015 10:55 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
I did so, and put width for search - 33% and for highlights - 67. But something broken and highlights still has 81% width.
User avatar
Junior Boarder

teitbite
Sun Feb 08, 2015 12:50 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi

Please check if override is enabled in template settings. And use a stronger priority code like:

Code: Select all
#gkSearch {
    width: 21.25% !important;
}

#gkHighlights {
    width: 78.5% !important;
}
User avatar
Moderator


cron