is it possible to customize gk title overlay

Professional social WordPress theme with metro design, fully-adjustable grid widget and BuddyPress support.
GK User
Tue Aug 26, 2014 11:41 am
I would like to maybe have a background on top of the image but with the title on top of the background, please see image attached for reference
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Tue Aug 26, 2014 1:15 pm
Hello,

I'm sorry but I'm not sure which element do you want to customize? which image do you mean?
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Tue Aug 26, 2014 1:20 pm
When you use the gk title over widget you are able to display a title on top of an image. What i want to know is can i give the title itself a background which also sits on top of the post image. i would like it to look like the image i peviously posted
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Tue Aug 26, 2014 1:22 pm
as you can see from my image, i have a title but i would like a solid black background underneath it to look like the first image i uploaded
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Tue Aug 26, 2014 2:22 pm
Try to add this code into override.css file:

Code: Select all
.gk-grid-title-overlay > figcaption {
   background: rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.7);
}
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Tue Aug 26, 2014 5:22 pm
despite applying the css nothing has happend
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Wed Aug 27, 2014 6:51 am
Are you sure? Please check the attachment. Now if you want to change title position - you can do it in your GK Title OVerlay widget (change "Title position" to "top").
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Wed Aug 27, 2014 7:25 am
this is exactly what i want but it has not appeard on my site
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Wed Aug 27, 2014 7:26 am
Please refresh your browser's cache, or check another browser.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Wed Aug 27, 2014 7:35 am
it is working now thank you.

Is there anyway to have it anitmated so when you hover it comes up. please see this site for what i mean www.eighty85.com
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Wed Aug 27, 2014 7:56 am
Only something like that:

Code: Select all
.gk-grid-title-overlay[data-textpos="bottom"] > figcaption {
   bottom: -100%;
   -webkit-transition: all .3s ease-out;
   -moz-transition: all .3s ease-out;
   -ms-transition: all .3s ease-out;
   -o-transition: all .3s ease-out;
   transition: all .3s ease-out;
}

.gk-grid-title-overlay:hover > figcaption {
   bottom: 0;
}


Title visible only on hover. Layout from mentioned website requires more modifications - unfortunately beyond our technical support.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Wed Aug 27, 2014 8:06 am
Thank you so much i really appreciate it :D :D :D :D :D

My last question is, my grid blocks that are 1 by 1 do not display the text properly and with and the when i apply the title over lay the box shadow takes up the whole block instead of just the bottom section
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Wed Aug 27, 2014 11:46 am
Add this code:

Code: Select all
#gk_grid-4 .gk-grid--5 .gk-grid-title-overlay > figcaption h3 {
    font-size: 13px;
}


#gk_grid-4 is id of your grid at the top, and .gk-grid--5 is css selector for 5th grid block.
Editing this code you can adjust font-size for each block.

e.g. for block nr 7 use this selector:
Code: Select all
#gk_grid-4 .gk-grid--7 .gk-grid-title-overlay > figcaption h3
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Wed Aug 27, 2014 12:49 pm
is there a way i could target all the small grid blocks at top at once?
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Wed Aug 27, 2014 1:48 pm
Unfortunately, it's not possible.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Thu Aug 28, 2014 1:58 pm
i have copied the code to make the text smaller for each indvidual block but it does not seem to work for me
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Fri Aug 29, 2014 6:51 am
You have only block 5 in your override.css, add/change it into this code:

Code: Select all
#gk_grid-4 .gk-grid--5 .gk-grid-title-overlay > figcaption h3,
#gk_grid-4 .gk-grid--7 .gk-grid-title-overlay > figcaption h3{
    font-size: 13px;
}
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Fri Aug 29, 2014 8:26 am
i deleted the animation css but it still animates.

When i make changes they are never instant i have to wait hours to see a change. i need to figure a way around this any suggestions?
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Fri Aug 29, 2014 10:18 am
which animations - from the override.css file? Do you have some cache plugin installed? If not, please ask your server provider if there's any cache settings conifugured on your server.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:23 pm
i have the go daddy managed wordpress hosting, i had the figcaption hover on but i deleted it, yet is still appears on my site. how do i use cache settings? ( i used it once and it deleted my site)

and yes animations from my overridefile.css
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:30 pm
On your gk grid widget, did you set cache settings to 0?
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:36 pm
yes i did set it to 0
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:41 pm
and cache settings from your TItle Overyla widget? We are using cache only with widgets, so if you set it to 0 and still have problem with that, you should ask your server provider. When you change override.css file, check also another browser, because it may be also problem with browser's cache.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:42 pm
i have contacted my host and they cannot see anything wrong, they have flushed my cache also. Can you please check my override.css file for any errors
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Mon Sep 01, 2014 6:43 am
I don't see any error in your override.css file - and there's no animations in your gk grid blocks title - on the black backgorund.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Mon Sep 01, 2014 8:09 am
its okay its finally updated which is strange. Is there anyway i could pay for you to develop the 3 column article blog page for me?
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Mon Sep 01, 2014 9:36 am
Regarding custom work, please send me a Private Message with details.
User avatar
Moderator


cron