Image slide "gkLearnMore" WHAT WE DO button and more

Rate this topic: Evaluations: 1, 1.00 on the average.Evaluations: 1, 1.00 on the average.Evaluations: 1, 1.00 on the average.Evaluations: 1, 1.00 on the average.Evaluations: 1, 1.00 on the average.Evaluations: 1, 1.00 on the average.1.00 out of 6 based on 1 vote(s)
GK User
Wed Jan 14, 2015 6:29 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
1) Where can I find where to edit the text for the "WHAT WE DO" button on the first slide?
2) How do I remove the arrows from the slide show? This is because I only have 1 slide and do not need a slide show, but would still like to keep the animated texts.
3) Is there an easy way to change the labels? Currently they show #gkHeader #gkBottom #gkBottom1-3 and I want to rename it to #About #Contact, etc. If I changed these in the menu as well as the actual module itself, is that enough? Or will that screw up the rest of the template?

Thanks!
Jenny
User avatar
Junior Boarder

GK User
Wed Jan 14, 2015 6:56 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
4) Also, where exactly can I edit the font for the logo text? Currently the default is Arial, I've changed it in the template manager as well as the template.css but I am not able to change it to any other font.
User avatar
Junior Boarder

teitbite
Thu Jan 15, 2015 11:43 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi

1. Please take a look into modules language file in /languages/en-GB/ folder
2. If You will have one slide than there should be no arrows, but if there are than here is a code to hide it:

Code: Select all
.gkIsWrapper-gk_creativity .gkIsNextBtn, .gkIsWrapper-gk_creativity .gkIsPrevBtn { display: none; }

3. In template configuratin in Menu section You will find a place to add an overrides for this names.
4. Easiest is with css override like here:

Code: Select all
#gkLogo.text, .gkIsWrapper-gk_creativity .figcaption h2 {
    font-family: Helvetica, sans-serif !important;
}
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Tue Jan 20, 2015 10:25 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi Teitbite,
Thanks for your help.

But for #3 can you be a bit more detailed? I don't see a place to override it.

I had a couple more questions for you:
1) How do I replace the gavick gk demo images in Portfolio section with a new image and link to external link? The current template shows images of demo images and is linked to an article. I want to upload a new picture and link it to an external link such as Flickr URL instead.
2) Also for the gavick gk demo Portfolio, how do I maximize the images and take up the entire width of the screen? Is this possible?
3) Contact form - How do I resize the contact form to make it smaller? And will this impact the mobile version if set it to say 50%?
4) Footer social icons - Where can I find the social media icons? I want to replace it with LARGER icons and remove the circles, and then center it at the bottom of my page.

Here is the link to my site: http://jennytran.net/index.php
User avatar
Junior Boarder

GK User
Wed Jan 21, 2015 8:08 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
Any update on the questions below? Thanks!
User avatar
Junior Boarder

teitbite
Fri Jan 23, 2015 8:39 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi

About old number 3:

Please look at the screen. It will explain it best.
User avatar
Moderator

teitbite
Fri Jan 23, 2015 8:49 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi

1. This module is showing K2 articles from Portfolio category. To have different images, just start adding new articles here. There is no way to link it with external url. It's not how this module works.

2. You can overwrite module width with a custom module class suffix. For example add module class suffix "full-width" to module settings and this code to override.css file:

Code: Select all
.full-width .gkPage {
    max-width: 1920px !important;
}


3. You can do this by overwriting class:

Code: Select all
.gkContactForm[data-cols="2"] > form {
    width: 26%;
}


4. Icons can be found in a module called "Social Icons".
User avatar
Moderator

teitbite
Fri Jan 23, 2015 9:28 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi again

I just read Your PM to me and saw Your website.

Point 3. has to be done differently than the one I adviced before looking at our demo. Use this code instead:

Code: Select all
.gkContactForm {
    margin: 0 auto;
    max-width: 50%;
}
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Sat Jan 24, 2015 3:01 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
None of your recommendations work at all.

1) The code below for the contact form width does not work. I added it to my override.css file and see the same exact thing.
.gkContactForm {
margin: 0 auto;
max-width: 50%;}

2) To change the label names in the menu, I have attached a screenshot on what I see. I went into Template Manager > Creativity > and I do not see your menu options. It does not work.

3) Your code to remove the arrow also doesn't work. When you scroll down on my page, and then back up, the arrows re-appear.
.gkIsWrapper-gk_creativity .gkIsNextBtn, .gkIsWrapper-gk_creativity .gkIsPrevBtn { display: none; }

4) Social Icons - Okay, what do you mean the social icon module? There is nothing I can do in there to replace the social icons or make them bigger.... The footer of my website is where I want to make the social icons bigger or replace it.

Your responses don't seem very helpful. This template has a lot of constraints, I'm considering requesting for a refund. I don't mean to sound like I am complaining but maybe I can get a different developer to help me look at these concerns? Thanks.
User avatar
Junior Boarder

teitbite
Sun Jan 25, 2015 12:06 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi

1. You have added the code to override.css, but forgot to activate using overrides.

2. Yes, here I've made a mistake and checked a wrong template. This was the first one-page layout template, so the functionality is not such extended as other templates with this option. You need to edit /layout/blocks/default.php file directly and add lines like for example:

Code: Select all
<div id="contact"></div>


so likes "#contact" will be moving screen to this position.

3. It's not working for the same reason than point 1).

4. My answer was for our demo. I answered before seeing Your site. In our demo a module called "Social Icons" is responsible for it, in Your case this looks to be using some other solution, so it would be better to change it with css. Again copy this to override.css:

Code: Select all
.gkContactSocialIcons > a:before {
    border: medium none !important;
    color: #000000 !important;
    font-size: 20px !important;
}
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Mon Jan 26, 2015 7:07 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
For #2, I still don't understand what you're trying to say.

For #4, after adding your code to my override, it made the icons stack on top of each other. How do I get it back to horizontal and centered?

I moved my site to http://jennytran.net/old/

Thanks.
User avatar
Junior Boarder

teitbite
Tue Jan 27, 2015 7:35 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi

#2 I'll try explain using an example:

Link: http://jennytran.net/old/#gkHeader stops site on a piece of code <div id="gkHeader">

You can access this code in file /layout/default.php, but do not remove this line, just add new code like this:

<div id="gkHeader"><div id="about"></div>

Now You can change the link from http://jennytran.net/old/#gkHeader to http://jennytran.net/old/#about

#4 This is odd. The most important line in css is missing in Your site, but it's surely present in demo. But I assume You want this icons to be centered, so would recommend a different code anyway. Add this to override.css

Code: Select all
.gkContactSocialIcons {
    text-align: center;
}

.gkContactSocialIcons > a {
    display: inline-block;
}
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Fri Feb 13, 2015 11:39 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi,
maybe too late, but I had the same issue this week and Cyberek gave me the solution to transform the text in "What We do" button
just go to your slide in the module you want the change for "What we do"
edit and replace in Your Slides at line "URL"
insert before the url (by default it is #gkheader for example) your text as follow
[Write what you want here]
example
[Hello !]#gkheader
and you'll get "Hello !" replacing "What we do"
User avatar
Gold Boarder

teitbite
Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:04 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi

Yes, that's correct. I forgot it's made this way ;/ Thank You for help.
User avatar
Moderator


cron