Main Menu Item

Rate this topic: Evaluations: 1, 1.00 on the average.Evaluations: 1, 1.00 on the average.Evaluations: 1, 1.00 on the average.Evaluations: 1, 1.00 on the average.Evaluations: 1, 1.00 on the average.Evaluations: 1, 1.00 on the average.1.00 out of 6 based on 1 vote(s)
GK User
Tue Dec 30, 2014 1:43 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi,

Please refer to the following website:

http://www.liddleones.com

Is there anyway of changing the meni item called 'BUY NOW' to resemble the LOG IN appearance in the Main Menu

(I know the munu is going over the logo, but I will be deleting the Log In button once I find out how to do it)

Thanks.
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Tue Dec 30, 2014 2:21 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
So basically you would like to have "Buy now" menu item to look exactly as "log in" one?
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Wed Dec 31, 2014 12:39 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
Yes, that is what I am looking at doing.

I have tried changing the parameters of the Log In module, but can't figure it out.

Cheers.
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Fri Jan 02, 2015 10:08 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
Actually it might be impossible to transfer menu item into different look. The only thing that comes to my mind is to hardcode it into:
/templates/gk_creativity/layouts/default.php
file just before:
Code: Select all
                        <?php if($this->API->modules('login')) : ?>
                        <a href="<?php echo $this->API->get('login_url', 'index.php?option=com_users&view=login'); ?>" id="gkLogin" class="button border"><?php echo ($userID == 0) ? JText::_('TPL_GK_LANG_LOGIN') : JText::_('TPL_GK_LANG_MY_ACCOUNT'); ?></a>
                        <?php endif; ?>

The code should looks this way:
Code: Select all
                        <a href="http://www.amazon.com/Vitamin-Drops-Naturally-Derived-Supplement/dp/B00PK3R1FO/ie=UTF8?m=A1IB9NJ2FQICTQ&amp;keywords=vitamin+D+drops" class="button border" id="menu735">BUY NOW</a>
                        <?php if($this->API->modules('login')) : ?>
                        <a href="<?php echo $this->API->get('login_url', 'index.php?option=com_users&view=login'); ?>" id="gkLogin" class="button border"><?php echo ($userID == 0) ? JText::_('TPL_GK_LANG_LOGIN') : JText::_('TPL_GK_LANG_MY_ACCOUNT'); ?></a>
                        <?php endif; ?>
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Fri Jan 02, 2015 11:30 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi,

I did your edit and there were 2 x LOG IN buttons and a BUY NOW button.

These were also placed over the logo on the left hand of the page.

I did some tweaking, as per below:

Code: Select all
</div>
                <?php endif; ?>
                <?php if($this->API->modules('login')) : ?>
                <div id="gkUserArea">
                        <a href="http://www.amazon.com/Vitamin-Drops-Naturally-Derived-Supplement/dp/B00PK3R1FO/ie=UTF8?m=A1IB9NJ2FQICTQ&amp;keywords=vitamin+D+drops" class="button border" id="menu735">BUY NOW</a>
                        <?php if($this->API->modules('login')) : ?>
                        <a href="<?php echo $this->API->get('login_url', 'index.php?option=com_users&view=login'); ?>" id="gkLogin" class="button border"><?php echo ($userID == 0) ? JText::_('TPL_GK_LANG_LOGIN') : JText::_('TPL_GK_LANG_MY_ACCOUNT'); ?></a>
                        <?php endif; ?>
                </div>
                <?php endif; ?>
                <?php if($this->API->get('show_menu', 1)) : ?>
                <div id="gkMainMenu" class="gkPage">
                        <?php
                   $this->mainmenu->loadMenu($this->API->get('menu_name','mainmenu'));
                    $this->mainmenu->genMenu($this->API->get('startlevel', 0), $this->API->get('endlevel',-1));
                ?>
                </div>
                <?php endif; ?>


Now refer to website to see how it looks.

http://www.liddleones.com

Just need the LOG IN button removed.

I tried going to turn off the login module in the modules manager but then no BUY NOW and LOG IN button was visible.

As this is a bit of a tweak to the website, I can send you a $10 or $20 donation to quickly sort.

I know it is a bit of customising.

Let me know what you think.

I am nearly there. The website is looking good. Just need that LOG IN button removed.

Once the LOG IN button is removed, the rest of the menu items will move over and not be hanging over part of the logo.

Thanks.
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Sat Jan 03, 2015 11:00 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
Please send me a PM with:
1. URL to your website
2. login and password of user with admin/super-admin privileges (please create one for me)
3. ftp data (host, user, password)
4. link to this thread

I'll fix that for you.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Tue Jan 06, 2015 10:42 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
I can't access your ftp server (time out).
Please attach to this thread file:
/templates/gk_creativity/layouts/default.php
compressed with zip. Ill do the changes and post it back so after replace it will work fine.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Wed Jan 07, 2015 11:12 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
OK,

Not too sure why it was timing out.

Find attached the compressed file.

Thanks for this.
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:20 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
Ok, os basically my change was to remove "login" module dependency and leaving only your custom button. This file should work as expected.
default.php.zip
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Thu Jan 08, 2015 11:57 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
Excellent.

Works well.

Website looks great now with that tweak.

Check your PM

Thanks
User avatar
Senior Boarder

GK User
Thu Jan 08, 2015 5:45 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
Thanks.
If you will have any other questions, feel free to post new forum threads.
User avatar
Moderator


cron