Different Image

Rate this topic: Evaluations: 1, 1.00 on the average.Evaluations: 1, 1.00 on the average.Evaluations: 1, 1.00 on the average.Evaluations: 1, 1.00 on the average.Evaluations: 1, 1.00 on the average.Evaluations: 1, 1.00 on the average.1.00 out of 6 based on 1 vote(s)
GK User
Wed Jan 02, 2013 8:25 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hello,

Could you outline steps to recreate frontpage's main image (sliders) on other pages.

There are multiple ideas throughout Forums with no clear solutions.
User avatar
Gold Boarder

teitbite
Thu Jan 03, 2013 2:45 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi

As a first step please duplicate the module and publish in a new page. Second step is to add a page class suffix "nobg" using template configuration panel.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Thu Jan 03, 2013 11:55 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
Q: Now I'm lost... template configuration panel under templates?

Or modules?

Q: How do I display a different image behind sliders?



teitbite wrote:Hi

As a first step please duplicate the module and publish in a new page. Second step is to add a page class suffix "nobg" using template configuration panel.
User avatar
Gold Boarder

teitbite
Fri Jan 04, 2013 1:21 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi

Sorry I missunderstood You in the first part of the question. An image behind is placed using css code. This is the code:

Code: Select all
#gkHeader.nobg {
    background: url("../images/header_bg.jpg") no-repeat scroll center top transparent;
    min-height: 760px;
}


You can add the same code leading to a different image to override.css file, but remember to enable using override in template configuration.

Also suffix needs to be added to a module parameters not template as I've mentioned earlier.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Sat Jan 05, 2013 1:37 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
I turned on override and then pasted this into override.css:

But regardless of adding a different image... the image from frontpage is still coming up.




/*
#------------------------------------------------------------------------
# Startup - October Joomla! template (for Joomla 2.5)
#
# Copyright (C) 2007-2012 Gavick.com. All Rights Reserved.
# License: Copyrighted Commercial Software
# Website: http://www.gavick.com
# Support: [email protected]
*/
#gkHeader.nobg {
background: url("../images/header_bg1.jpg") no-repeat scroll center top transparent;
min-height: 760px;
}


/* Here you can include your override CSS styles */
User avatar
Gold Boarder

GK User
Sat Jan 05, 2013 1:37 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
I turned on override and then pasted this into override.css:

But regardless of adding a different image... the image from frontpage is still coming up.




/*
#------------------------------------------------------------------------
# Startup - October Joomla! template (for Joomla 2.5)
#
# Copyright (C) 2007-2012 Gavick.com. All Rights Reserved.
# License: Copyrighted Commercial Software
# Website: http://www.gavick.com
# Support: [email protected]
*/
#gkHeader.nobg {
background: url("../images/header_bg1.jpg") no-repeat scroll center top transparent;
min-height: 760px;
}


/* Here you can include your override CSS styles */
User avatar
Gold Boarder

GK User
Sat Jan 05, 2013 1:57 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
Ok...

the code that you suggested I use in override is changing frontpage's image as well.

I would like to use a different image from frontpage/

How would I code that?
User avatar
Gold Boarder

teitbite
Sat Jan 05, 2013 2:08 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi

If You want a different image for different page You need to create different module suffixes. For example " page-120" than the code to load an image for this particular module will be:

Code: Select all
#gkHeader.page-120 {
    background: url("../images/header_bg.jpg") no-repeat scroll center top transparent;
    min-height: 760px;
}
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Sat Jan 05, 2013 6:59 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
teitbite wrote:Hi

If You want a different image for different page You need to create different module suffixes. For example " page-120" than the code to load an image for this particular module will be:

Code: Select all
#gkHeader.page-120 {
    background: url("../images/header_bg.jpg") no-repeat scroll center top transparent;
    min-height: 760px;
}



This is what I did::


#gkHeader.page-120 {
background: url("../images/1.jpg") no-repeat scroll center top transparent;
min-height: 760px;
}

/* Here you can include your override CSS styles */


Frontpage is now correctly showing chosen image. However #gkHeader.page-120 is not showing 1.jpg.
User avatar
Gold Boarder

GK User
Sat Jan 05, 2013 7:11 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
I recently asked for the same thing and it was answered http://www.gavick.com/forums/startup-jo ... 21713.html
User avatar
Fresh Boarder

GK User
Sat Jan 05, 2013 7:37 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
Pearson wrote:I recently asked for the same thing and it was answered http://www.gavick.com/forums/startup-jo ... 21713.html



Thanks... this one is a little more complex than the usual click and copy.
User avatar
Gold Boarder

teitbite
Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:50 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi

Dziudek presented one of the possible solutions. I'm more of a CSS fan, so will try and make it differently.

@Poppie please show me an exact page where You have this module. Ans send me an access to Your joomla panel.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Sun Jan 06, 2013 2:53 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
teitbite wrote:Hi

Dziudek presented one of the possible solutions. I'm more of a CSS fan, so will try and make it differently.

@Poppie please show me an exact page where You have this module. Ans send me an access to Your joomla panel.



Hi... just pm you. Thank-you!
User avatar
Gold Boarder

GK User
Sun Jan 06, 2013 3:18 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
teitbite wrote:Hi

Dziudek presented one of the possible solutions. I'm more of a CSS fan, so will try and make it differently.

@Poppie please show me an exact page where You have this module. Ans send me an access to Your joomla panel.



http://www.thuto.us/why-thuto

1. created new module
2. new page suffix
3. css code in override.css is


#gkHeader.page-120 {
background: url("../images/header_bg2.jpg") no-repeat scroll center top transparent;
min-height: 760px;
}

3. created new images and titled as follows:

a) header_bg2.jpg
b) header_bg_mobile2.jpg
c) header_bg_tablet2.jpg

PM'd you Joomla User details for www.thuto.us

Thank-you for your help
User avatar
Gold Boarder

teitbite
Sun Jan 06, 2013 4:05 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi

It's so good to have an access and not need to guess. I was mistaken in a part of my previous posts :( sorry. This solution is legit:

1. Check the ID of a page, You can make it in menu menager (the page You have shown me as example is 606)

2. In template settings add a page class suffix to a page with ID You've learned in previous point. I've used "p606" for page with ID 606, to make it easy.

3. Make sure override is enabled (it wasn't in Your template configuration)

4. Add a CSS code to override.css which will load this image:

Code: Select all
.p606 #gkHeader {
    background: url("../images/header_bg2.jpg") no-repeat scroll center top transparent;
    min-height: 760px;
}


As You can see the name of the class created in point 2 is at front with dot at the beginning.

That's all :)
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Mon Jan 07, 2013 9:37 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
That did work! Final Questions regarding header:

Is it possible to use code in override.css to reposition Title and buttons of Slider?

And if so, what is the code?

Please see attached example of what I mean.
User avatar
Gold Boarder

teitbite
Tue Jan 08, 2013 8:03 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi

All depends where do You want to move it, but the code is there already to position it. Please just try to play with values:

Code: Select all
.gkIsWrapper-gk_startup .gkIsText.active {
    left: auto;
    margin: 0;
    right: 0;
    text-align: right;
    top: 429px;
}
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Wed Jan 09, 2013 6:30 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
teitbite wrote:Hi

All depends where do You want to move it, but the code is there already to position it. Please just try to play with values:

Code: Select all
.gkIsWrapper-gk_startup .gkIsText.active {
    left: auto;
    margin: 0;
    right: 0;
    text-align: right;
    top: 429px;
}



Hi... don't know where this code is?

1. Front page has to be independent from

2. Other page's images etc.

3. So should this be in override.css??
User avatar
Gold Boarder

teitbite
Thu Jan 10, 2013 3:40 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi

You should keep all css changes in override.css than when template updat is released You will not use Your changes if all will be in one file.

If You want to separate this change by module simply add a module class suffix and use it with this code:

Code: Select all
.some_module_class_suffix .gkIsWrapper-gk_startup .gkIsText.active {
    left: auto;
    margin: 0;
    right: 0;
    text-align: right;
    top: 429px;
}
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Thu Jan 10, 2013 5:21 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
teitbite wrote:Hi

You should keep all css changes in override.css than when template updat is released You will not use Your changes if all will be in one file.

If You want to separate this change by module simply add a module class suffix and use it with this code:

Code: Select all
.some_module_class_suffix .gkIsWrapper-gk_startup .gkIsText.active {
    left: auto;
    margin: 0;
    right: 0;
    text-align: right;
    top: 429px;
}




Could you have a look at http://www.thuto.us/why-thuto.

Need to move wrapper to the right but it's not going in that direction.

What is wrong with the code below?


.p606 .gkIsWrapper-gk_startup .gkIsText.active {
left: 450;
margin: 0 0 0 200;
right: 0;
text-align: right;
top: 100px;
}
User avatar
Gold Boarder

teitbite
Thu Jan 10, 2013 7:00 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi

Here is the code that made it:

Code: Select all
.p606 .gkIsWrapper-gk_startup .gkIsText.active {
    left: auto;
    margin: 0;
    right: 0;
    text-align: right;
    top: 100px;
}
User avatar
Moderator


cron